Tiny Denim Friendship Stars

I have had a strange few weeks. I haven’t been able to settle on a project. I have flirted with paper piecing, water colour and trying out quilt blocks for my “experiential quilt”….more on that to follow. I have shared a few photos of these on Facebook and twitter (please feel free to follow either, I put up links to new blog posts there too).

Tonight I have started a new project. It is to make a cover for my sewing machine. I have wanted to do one for a while to protect and prettify ( did I make that word up?) the hard case. It is kind of a practise for my “experimental quilt” too, the plan for that being to use blocks and techniques that I have not used before. This is going to include my first go at free motion quilting on a proper project! So the sewing machine cover will be my practice piece to hopefully minimise mistakes on the quilt.

Anyway, here is my first go at tiny (3″ finished) friendship stars. Made from contrasting denim.

20120903-215054.jpg

Admittedly they are a little wonky, but I am very pleased with them. I thought they were going to look awful right up until the last seam press. I got a lovely surprise when I turned them over. And they will fit in perfectly with the wonky houses I intend to do!

I feel quite rebellious tonight, I pressed my seams open and I used steam! They turned out much better that the traditional “press to the dark side”. I like the neatness of it. Which method do you use?

Its monday so I am linking up with Handmade Harbour, why don’t you join me…..

10 thoughts on “Tiny Denim Friendship Stars

I would love to know what you think!

