A Completely Brilliant Pin Cushion

I took inspiration from the pin cushions at Run With Scissors and fashioned my own. It is completely practical – it gets knocked on the floor at least twice an hour and thrown in the bottom of my sewing basket and a pin has yet to fall out! Plus I think it looks lovely.

20120410-225225.jpg

20120410-225234.jpg

I used an clean empty half size baked bean tin, one which has a pull top so there were no sharp edges. Cut fabric to fit around tin, which I then stuck down using super glue. For the middle where the pins sit I took a complementary square of fabric, put a handful of toy stuffing in the middle of the square and wrapped the fabric – right side out – around the stuffing, I secured the edges of the fabric with a few pins, making a ball shape. The ball simply sits in the tin with all fabric edges inside the tin. Adjust the amount of stuffing until you have a snug fit.

I would love to know what you think!

